Daily Archives: May 31, 2013

Image

Improving life for a small group, in a small town, somewhere in the middle of Romania. I sometimes question whether I have achieved anything in the day, I feel exhausted from the effort I have put in. I think about all the wonderful people I have met in the day and know I have achieved loads. I think about how many psychiatric hospitals like this or worse there are in Romania, in the world, and I realise I have achieved absolutely nothing.

Achievements are hard fought-for and it can make you bitter from the amount that you have had to argue for someone’s basic, basic, human rights. I think what we all sometimes lack, is empathy. It is so easy to imagine yourself in someone’s life, and yet it takes so much effort because once you realse what someone else is living through it makes you ashamed of what is taken for granted, or the fact that you are not doing anything about it. Imagine the amount that could be achieved if everyone truly empathised with each other!